eARC REVIEW: Taproot by Keezy Young

35833506Title: Taproot

Author: Keezy Young

Expected Publication Date: September 26, 2017

Publisher: Lion Forge

Rating: ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

Genre: Comic, necromancy, ghost/human, m/m romance

Blue is having a hard time moving on. He’s in love with his best friend. He’s also dead. Luckily, Hamal can see ghosts, leaving Blue free to haunt him to his heart’s content. But something eerie is happening in town, leaving the local afterlife unsettled, and when Blue realizes Hamal’s strange ability may be putting him in danger, Blue has to find a way to protect him, even if it means… leaving him

—I received an electronic advanced readers’ copy from NetGalley for free in exchange for an honest review.—

Taproot was something I picked up from Netgalley on a whim because it looked cute and I loved the cover art.

I read a lot of comics, especially Japanese styled ones but also westernized ones too! This one fell right into my favorite category of colorful, whimsical art which had a really heartfelt story that didn’t rely on a lot of text to explain how the characters have this connection.

As you read from the plot: Blue is a ghost who hangs out with this human called Hamal who is the only person alive who can see him. From the get-go, I loved Hamal. Why? Because of how he was drawn. The two characters remind me a lot of my favorite characters from VLD Lance and Hunk. Hamal’s fat and hefty and I love that about him. His arms are strong and even Blue says so! (Your crush is showing, Blue!)

The plot is easy to follow but what’s really nice is the drawing. I liked that it felt very unstable, it reflected the world Blue was in. The whole thing is not restricted to point of views, but I could see that Blue was somewhat the narrator. This ghost boy is literally a favorite because he’s awkward and hates bugs. Same, boy. There is a good deal of talk of necromancy seeing as Hamal’s power makes him vulnerable to a certain… being, I won’t spoil, who is interested in him.

The romance aspect in this is very straightforward, there is no angst besides the fact that one of them is… dead. Don’t worry though, the ending is pretty happy.

I liked the diversity in this so much. I know, it’s super short but you literally can see the diversity. Hamal is brown, ethnicity not specified while Blue is of Hispanic roots which I can’t detect but his full name is Taye Alvarado. (I googled it and google says many with this last name come from “Alvarado in Badajoz Province, Spain.”) There are also other characters like the person who comes to the flower shop (HAVE I MENTIONED: Hamal is a gardener and he literally has the greenest thumb! Mason this one is for you!) called Chloe. Chloe is chubby and blond and round and I love her so much. She is also adorable around the two. There are also diverse ghosts! I saw a black ghost, and a Muslim ghost! Amazing!

Seriously, go request it, it’s a Read Now book and write a review, help spread word. This is the kind of art I want to support. Art that represents me and you!

What really got to me is the happy ending. I’m surprisingly easy to please with queer stories: make them cute and happy! This comic is short but it made my day in the 20 mins I spent reading it. I’m probably going to talk about it even more in the future. Here’s to cute comics that center m/m relationships and gives us all the happy endings!

PURCHASE ON AMAZON (it’s up for pre-order at the moment)

Do you read comics? Visual novels? Have you read something similar? Would you recommend me anything similar to this?

2 thoughts on “eARC REVIEW: Taproot by Keezy Young

Leave a Reply

