LIST: July Wrap Up

img_2232Hello Beautifuls!

I’m quite happy July is ending. As you might have seen in my TBR Breakdown July post, I focused mainly on electronic arcs this month that I’ve received from Netgalley and Edelweiss. This experience was so tough because not only did I want to read already published books, but also because some of the arcs I had practically no interest in and some proved very disappointing. But, among them were true gems that I am so happy to have given a chance to. My July was spent trying to be very peaceful and giving my depression a chance to somewhat calm the heck down. I got into another car accident, not serious! I saw a great movie (Homecoming!!) and I got to hang out with my friends.

A little breakdown:

  • Read total (15) books:
  • (9) were e-arcs
  • (1) was a re-read
  • and the rest (5) were already published books!

 

STRAYS (URBAN SOUL #2) by Garrett Leigh (★★★★★/5 stars) – chef Nero meets young main in need of a safe haven Lenny. Incredible things ensue. The kind of M/M you’ll need in your life.

SOMETHING BEAUTIFUL (eARC) by Amanda Gernentz Hanson (★/1 star) – friends since childhood go through puberty and things go terribly wrong… in every way possible. local bisexual man could have saved himself so much agony if author bothered talk about bisexuality but oh well.

WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI by Sandhya Menon (★★★★/4 stars) – stem girl meets spiritual boy, hilarity and first love, all wrapped up in indian culture so good you’ll cry srk in devdas style.

LITTLE MONSTERS (eARC) by Kara Thomas (★★★★★/5 stars) – thriller contemporary about a missing girl who turns out to be not the best friend her friends thought her to be.

THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO (eARC) by F. C. Lee (★★★★★/5 stars) – best. book. ever. chinese girl called genie lo finds out she’s the reincarnation of a powerful weapon who belonged to this weird dude called quentin… amazing things happen. i can’t guarantee you won’t fall in love with these two.

 

JAYA AND RASA FALL IN LOVE (eARC) by Sonia Patel (★★★★/4 stars) – set in hawaii about a gujarati transboy named jaya and a multiracial girl called rasa who find love in the hopeless reality of their lives. #ownvoices

LAST SEMESTER (eARC) by Corine Mekaouche (★/1 star) – dnf mess about college student jo who moves in with three guys… horrible decision, really, including my decision to read it.

CATERPILLARS CAN’T SWIM (eARC) by Liane Shaw (★★★/3 stars) – disabled ryan saves jack from drowning, jack and ryan become reluctant friends. book tries hard to educate you but like from the straight ally pov…

FOR REAL by Alexis Hall (★★★★★/5 stars) – bdsm relationship between jaded laurie and sweet boy toby goes really in the best ways when they catch feelings. writing is a+, plot will ruin your life because it’s so good and they’re simply the sweeties.

IN VINO by Alexis Hall (★★★★★/5 stars) – This is a short story Hall wrote that is mainly about Laurie’s friend Jasper who is… a mess… I loved it.

 

ILLEGAL CONTACT (THE BARONS #1) (eARC) by Santino Hassell (★★★★★/5 stars) – asshole football player Gavin hires takes-no-shit Noah and like… really amazing things happen please go read it.

THE UPSIDE OF UNREQUITED by Linsey Miller (★★★★★/5 stars) – A re-read of my favorite contemporary book of all time! I just had to give myself a whole day of being inside Molly’s brain.

MR. 60% (eARC) by Clete Barrett Smith (★★★★/4  stars) – high school kid deals drugs to afford the pain meds for his uncle who’s dying of cancer.

MY FAIR LOVER (eARC) by Nicole Jordan (★★★/3 stars) – Kate wants to matchmake the man who once rejected her six years ago, but he, a pirate called Brandon, has plans of his own for Kate and he.

JUST DRIVE (Anchor Point #1) by L. A. Witt (★★★★★/5 stars) – Sean is a cab driver who picks up a freshly heartbroken Paul. With an age gap and military between them, two men have to reassess their priorities.



Other books reviewed on the blog in this month, which I read in previous months.

 

STRONG SIGNAL by Megtino ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

BETTER AT WEDDINGS THAN YOU by Mina V. Esguerra ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

FAST CONNECTION by Megtino ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

HARD WIRED by Megtino ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

MATURE CONTENT by Megtino ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

LITTLE FIRES EVERYWHERE by Celeste Ng ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

DEAR MARTIN by Nic Stone ★★★★★/ 5 Stars


I had the pleasure to have some blog posts that weren’t reviews this month! They were fun and helped me organize myself!

(Click on the caption to be directed to the post!)

IMG_1612

Per usual, I do a list of books I’ve finished in every month. June was devoted to LGBT+ books, and I managed to have 90% of my read for that month to be very very queer.

One thing I absolutely love is making lists. In this post, I listed around 12 eARCs I needed to read. I managed to read quite a good number of them. I still have a lot to go… which I’ll leave for August.

This post was both painful and cathartic to write. In it I address a small part of my experience as a fat reader and how much Molly Peskin-Suso means to me.

I officially love doing book tags, especially if they make me question all of my feelings! In this post, I list a good number of books which have evoked so many emotions from me so far in 2017! It scares me how fast time has gone by since the year began but oh well!

This tag is probably the most fun I’ve had in a long time. I literally… screamed at some of the choices I had to make…

I am participating in this little challenge. I’m trying to complete all my pending requests from NetGalley so I can focus on university once it begins in September.


And that’s been my July! I’m quite proud of myself! How was your July?

Leave a Reply

