Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

img_1860

Hi, Beautifuls, freaking out is something I do too frequently to pass on this. A couple of my friends did this tag and their posts are great and filled with diverse books. Check out Leah’s and Fadwa’s! Also, count how many times I’m going to mention The Upside of Unrequited, yeah?

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli – No surprise here! I know! It’s just… *clenches fist* the best.

The Cyberlove Series by Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell – Is this cheating? I don’t care. These four books in combination have been so GOOD to me that they healed a small chasm of my loneliness for a week.

2. Your favourite sequel of 2017

The Paths We Choose by M. Hollis – I have a soft spot for fat characters and Lily and Matye’s romance was excellent and so beautiful.

Hold Me by Courtney Milan – One of my ultimate favorite romance books this year not only because of how diverse but also because the well executed hate-to-love trope. Maria is basically bae and Jay own my heart.

3. A new release you haven’t read but want to
31145133

I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo – I love me anything K-drama inspired and this seems so fluffy!

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year
35018774

Not Your Villain by C. B. Lee – I know, I know, you’re all screaming, “What about 27 Hours?” I am anticipating 27 Hours but I thought I’d draw light to NYV because it’ll have a trans MC!

5. Your biggest disappointment

A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab – I know this is harsh but I really had bigger hopes for Rhy and Alucard in this book. It isn’t a necessarily bad book but their part in the book left me so unsatisfied.

One Of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus – I enjoyed this very much until the very cheap ending and the plot twist concerning one of the characters’ sexuality.

6. Biggest surprise of the year

8849382

Gone, Gone, Gone by Hannah Moskowitz – This is a fairly old release but it hit me so hard with how beautifully written it was and how incredible the story was. Craig and Lio are forever favorites.

7. Fave new to you or debut author

Tara Sim (Timekeeper)I love me a good fantasy but this one was exceptionally GAY so HALLELUJAH

Garrett Leigh (Strays) – Truly fell in love with how Leigh writes her heroes. I like that although the book is m/m the romance doesn’t take over the entire plot, rather, it’s very character driven and the plot never bored me.

Lizzy Charles (It Had To Be You) – The Cutest Book Ever. Fake relationships is kind of my THING and Charles writes such good characters who did not make me sad not for one bit. They’re honest to god Teens.

8. Your new fictional crush

Zane (Mature Content) – Messy, emotional and with long flowing hair? That’s like… someone got into my head and got my dream character.

Reid Wertheim (The Upside of Unrequited) – My unapologetically nerdy boy who’s also tall and fat and takes his cat on walks.

Genie Lo (The Epic Crush of Genie Lo) – Hot damn! I love her???

9. New favourite character

Molly Peskin-Suso (The Upside of Unrequited) – Fat anxious daughter of mine who will protect with my everything. Everyone and their parents know I would die for Molly.

Ian (Hard Wired) – He’s this beautiful boy wrapped up in so much salt and sweetness all at once and I really want to protect him forever.

10. A book that made you cry

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera – Is not only the saddest thing I read but also the most beautiful in its portrayal of gay young boys in love.

#EnbyLoveStory by Mason Deaver – Revolutionized my world. I know it’s not an official release (and the cover is something I whipped up just now because I can’t find the original covers I made Mason) but I just love this book so much.

11. A book that made you happy

The Epic Crush of Genie Lo By F. C. Lee This book has been a pure blessing this month because I didn’t expect just how much fun it was when I started it and it continued to make me very happy as I read on and on.

Peter Darling by Austin Chant – This is such a unique take on Peter Pan and no I don’t mean that he’s trans, though that’s awesome too because we are in deep need for trans ownvoices books! This has my favorite tropes of hate-to-love wrapped up in a great take on Neverland.

12. Fave book to movie adaptation you’ve seen this year

I have seen zero book-to-movie adaptations this year.

13. Most beautiful book you’ve bought/received

img_1925

I don’t buy a lot of physical books, but one of the ones I really liked is A Conjuring of Light. And here is a picture I posted on my Instagram while I was reading it.

14. What are some books you need to read before the end of the year?

 

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Wintersong by S Jae Jones

One thought on “Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

Leave a Reply

