REVIEW: The Paths We Choose by M. Hollis

33299493Title: The Paths We Choose (Lilac Town #2)

Author: M. Hollis

Publication Date: April 6, 2017

Rating: ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

Genre: Contemporary, NA, F/F relationship

Lily Ferrari enjoys having control over every detail of her life. Ever since she left her parents’ house to gain her freedom, she decided to fully own her autonomy. But an unexpected visit from her little brother may change the path she chooses to follow.
Add to that a casual fling with the bright architect Mayte González, and Lily’s summer is turning out more interesting than she expected. It certainly beats the routine of working extra shifts at Johnson’s Bookstore.
A few weeks before her college life begins, Lily needs to figure out if she’s wrong about the past or if she should continue to protect her heart at all costs.

Sometimes moving forward is only possible if you have the right people by your side.

I would like to head this review with a special thank you. I was loaned a copy of this book by Marianne (@Mariannereads)! Thank you so much, fellow Froy admirer! Marianne and others are doing this awesome thing called #LittleKindleLibrary and they’re lending out ebooks to anyone who’d be kind enough to stick to the rules! I started this book approximately five hours before I finished it and it was so cute and exactly what I needed. Anyway, onto my review!

Buckle up, kids, because this book is kind of very fluffy and very sexy and will give you a lot of good feelings! I read the first book in the Lilac Town series weeks ago and I remember liking its simple style a lot. This one impressed me even more because I personally identified with Lily so much personality-wise and body-type wise.

This installment deals with Lily, the coworker we saw in Chris and Josie’s story, who likes to keep everything in her life in control and going as she likes them to go. This mostly is a result to a life before she left home where she was suffocated by her parents’ rules. This side of Lily was a part I related to so much because her need for control reminded me of how I’d be like when dealing with depression. Due to this little need of hers, Lily isn’t the nicest or most amicable. She can be quite rude and dry with people, which I loved. I like my heroes realistic and Lily reminds me so much of myself when I’m just fed up with people. Let’s just say Lily translated so much of my own feelings to the degree that I was glaring at a CAT when I’m obviously a huge cat person.

Anyway, after a one-night stand with her co-worker’s roommate, Lily develops a casual sex relationship with Matye, who is artistic and very very charming. She basically charms me into blushing and she’s not even real! I quite liked how Matye challenge Lily into coming out of her perfectly controlled world and allowed Lily to expand her circle of trustees. Matye isn’t the only awesome female support system Lily has, however, because THE PATHS WE CHOOSE has an incredible cast of female minor characters. Lily lives with three other ladies who help her with the most minor –dying her hair– to the most major –stopping a plane for her to make a hella romantic confession– (wink wonk). There is also an appearance of Chris and Josie and they are as adorable as ever as their own relationship is shown to be steady and flourishing.

This is quite character focused especially on Lily and how she somewhat deals with her own past of having left her home and with this unexpected romance that’s springing in her life. I enjoyed this so much although it was very short. Hollis has an addictive style of both sweet and quite hot. I especially liked how healthy the sex scenes were.

As for diversity, this book has it all! Lily is canonically Brazillian, doesn’t embrace any labels sexual orientation wise and is a plus size woman, Matye is an Afro-Latinx Cuban bisexual, and of Lily’s roommates there is Karen who is a half-Japanese raised in Brazil bisexual while the other roommate Anika comes from a family of second-generation Indian-Americans.

There is quite a healthy deal of conversation about Lily and Matye’s cultural backgrounds and a ton of cute moments both sexy and not.

P.S. If you are not okay with reading sexual scenes, the ones in this book aren’t as frequent and they’re not as explicit as one might think… But anyway, yeah, they’re there.


About the Author

M. Hollis could never decide what to do with her life. From the time she was a child, she has changed her ideas for a career hundreds of times. After writing in hidden notebooks during classes and daydreaming during every spare moment of her day, she decided to fully dedicate herself to her stories. When she isn’t scrolling around her social media accounts or reading lots of femslash fanfiction, you’ll find her crying about female characters and baking cookies.

GoodreadsTwitterTumblr ↔ Contact

8 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Paths We Choose by M. Hollis

  1. christine @ the story salve says:

    I loved both of these books so much!! One of my favorite aspects is how the girls talk openly about what they like sexually. It’s just…it’s one of those things that you don’t often see in books, but it’s so important in real life. Honest communication is so important in any type of relationship. I also loved the one character (Hope, I think?) who talks about being a virgin, and the way the other girls affirm her decision to wait. Gah! I just loved these so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

