LIST: May Wrap Up

IMG_0932.PNGMay was a very great month for reading but personally… not so great. I’m still recovering from the troubles that I had in the last week but I had a lot of great reads. I also feel like I did my best to fulfill the e-arc requests that I kind of went over with in Netgalley. I got rejected for a lot of books but oh well. I am excited to read more in June. Also, I’ve got a readathon that I’ll reveal information about in a week’s time. I’m afraid that this post will be my only one this week since I’m dealing with finals and I won’t be back until the 13th. I have some planned and scheduled, but otherwise, I won’t be available.

IT HAD TO BE YOU (eARC) by Lizzy Charles (★★★★★/ 5 stars) – fake relationship between redeemed bad boy James and good girl edelweis, very sweet and filled with good feelings.

THE ADVENTURES OF CHARLS, THE VERETIAN CLOTH MERCHANT (CAPTIVE PRINCE SHORT STORIES #3) by C.S. Pacat (★★★★★/5 stars) – short story following Kings Rising and the short The Summer Palace. Let’s just say that Charls is the best narrator who gave us: Damen’s curls, Damen’s dimple, soft moments between our favorite kings and ABSOLUTE tears.

THE PRINCESS DIARIST by Carrie Fisher (★★★/3 stars) – Listened to it mostly but while I enjoyed a large chunk of the book, the whole adultery with Harrison made me so uncomfortable. It was just so obvious that Carrie was dealing with far too much and was taken advantage of.

HOME by Toni Morrison (★★★★★/5 stars) – Amazing book, probably my favorite out of the three Morrison books we had to read for my Special Author elective. Morrison has this incredible talent that left me aching for more. This is her best, in my opinion. Frank’s journey home to save his sister Cee, who in the end saves herself, was phenomenal.

GREEN BUT FOR A SEASON (CAPTIVE PRINCE SHORT STORIES, #1) by C.S. Pacat (★★★★★/5 stars) – Short story’s events happen in two settings: immediately after Jord becomes Captain in Prince’s Gambit and in the past when he first joins Laurent’s Prince’s Guard. It gave me a much needed view into Laurent’s past.

SIX OF CROWS (SIX OF CROWS, #1) by Leigh Bardugo (★★★★★/5 stars) – *looks into the camera like I’m on the office* Remember when I didn’t talk about how much I love Six of Crows? Me neither. Absolute favorite. I read it again because I missed my kids a lot. As good as the first time if not better. Six kids grow into a family and mess me up, basically.

THE HOUSE OF HADES (THE HEROES OF OLYMPUS, #4) by Rick Riordan (★★★★★/5 stars) – The book that everyone probably tore their hair out to read, following an intense cliff hanger. I absolutely loved this book. I would have liked more of Nico however, because he’s my son.

HOW TO MAKE A WISH by Ashley Herring Blake (★★★★★/5 stars) – A poignant book about two girls finding comfort in one another with a lot of feel-good moments and minor characters.

ONE OF US IS LYING (eARC) by Karen McManus (★★★★/4 stars) – A thriller of sort that is very character driven, deals with suicide and closeted teen, four people form a “murder club” to deal with the aftermath of their classmate’s sudden death.

MARCO IMPOSSIBLE by Hannah Moskowitz (★★★★★/5 stars) – Middle-grade graduates Stephen and Marco have to do one last shenanigan: make sure Marco’s crush knows he is loved by someone. Amazing friendship and familial ties.

DEAR MARTIN (eARC) by Nic Stone (★★★★★/5 stars) – Review to come!  A very important book about a young man whose life is turned on its head when a minor incident opens his eyes to the racial injustices that young black men like him have to go through.

SAGA, VOL. 6 by Brian K. Vaughan (★★★★★/5 stars) – I did a whole re-read of the comics because I really missed them and volume six both hurt me and comforted me. I totally recommend this series to anyone.

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS (eARC) by Bonnie Pipkin (★★★★★/5 stars) – Genesis deals with a breakup, an abortion plus a mother whose mental health is deteriorating, all in the same week.


31082300

♠ Currently Reading ♠

I am probably the last person on twitter to pick up Timekeeper. I am currently in love with the universe Tara Sim made and I don’t know how I’ll finish this and not cry for the sequel immediately. The story revolves around Danny, a mechanic who fixes time, and how he grows attached to a certain clock tower named Colton Tower. Wink wonk, it’s hella cute. It has a gay main, a pansexual love interest who is described to have brown skin and blond hair *shrugs*

2 thoughts on “LIST: May Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

