REVIEW: The Adventures of Charls, the Veretian Cloth Merchant by C. S. Pacat

34803468Title: The Adventures of Charls, the Veretian Cloth Merchant (Captive Prince Short Stories #3)

Author: C. S. Pacat

Release date: May 3rd, 2017

Available form: ebook at 26 pages

Rating: ★★★★★ / 5 stars

The Adventures of Charls follows the dealings of a humble cloth merchant in the days before the royal Ascension. Set after the events of Kings Rising and The Summer Palace.

This is somewhat an unconventional post since I’ll be reviewing a short story by C. S. Pacat called . It is part of the short stories Pacat is releasing since the conclusion of Captive Prince’s series.

I freaking trust this woman with everything she does in this universe. She’s so talented to the point where I can talk about a short story that’s twenty seven pages long for days.

I personally am aware of the controversy around Captive Prince and I’m not here to defend it, I love the series, if you don’t approve of me doing so, you’re welcome to unfollow me. I don’t think there is a necessity to me explaining myself or anything. I’m a grownup. Anyway, on to the fun stuff.

This story is told entirely from Charls’ point of view and what a POV it was. We finally get to see Damen! Damen IS BEAUTIFUL and we all kind of knew it in a lowkey attracted to him sort of way and now I’m highkey in love with his dimple and tousled curls. I love love love the way Pacat wrote Damen in someone’s point of view. He just proves to be the Best Human Ever even when he’s supposed to be a merchant’s pretty useless assistant.

Also, Charls is in love with fabrics and is very descriptive so reading the Ascension scene from his eyes was pure GOLD (pun intended). Our beloved Prince is as shrewd in this story as he is throughout the entire series.

There is this scene where I literally could not help but sit on my hands because it was so good both comically and in describing Laurent and Damen’s relationship from the eyes of these merchant men.

I don’t want to give too much of it because it’s just too good not to spoil. It’s the kind of thing I will keep thinking of and loving and probably re-reading against my better judgement NOT to since I’m so busy.

The entire thing is just delightful to read. It read like a perfect short fanfic dedicated to make us feel good and nostalgic for the whole series.

I hope y’all don’t mind me gushing about this short since I have been having a bit of a bad week… a bad month… a bad eternity, and just writing about this short story makes me really happy.

Anyone who’s read the Captive Prince series in its entirety needs to get their hands on these short stories. They’re available on Kobo and Amazon.

If you’ve read Captive Prince, comment below how much this short made you squeal!

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Adventures of Charls, the Veretian Cloth Merchant by C. S. Pacat

Leave a Reply

