REVIEW: Peter Darling by Austin Chant

33358438Title: Peter Darling

Author: Austin Chant

Publication Date: Feb 15, 2017

Rating: ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

Genre: Retelling, M/M relationship

Ten years ago, Peter Pan left Neverland to grow up, leaving behind his adolescent dreams of boyhood and resigning himself to life as Wendy Darling. Growing up, however, has only made him realize how inescapable his identity as a man is.
But when he returns to Neverland, everything has changed: the Lost Boys have become men, and the war games they once played are now real and deadly. Even more shocking is the attraction Peter never knew he could feel for his old rival, Captain Hook—and the realization that he no longer knows which of them is the real villain.

I actually am reading a rather large book at the moment and it’s taking me a lot longer than I usually take to finish due to my hectic schedule with uni and work. So, I didn’t plan on starting this. Yet, I was not sleepy so I just opened my phone and let iBooks seduce me hence I began to read. Easily, I finish 30% of the book. It had enough of the original story that I was familiar with it but it came with a twist (which you obviously can deduce from the blurb) that made it even extra special. The way Chant wrote this part was so intriguing and I couldn’t help but fall in love with Peter. I was especially happy to like this because it is #ownvoices so less chances of it being messy!

I absolutely loved this book. It was the perfect length without being too short or too wordy. I really enjoyed the plot of how Peter came to terms that he couldn’t stay in Neverland forever. Also: the romance was friggin’ adorable and it made me smile. The characterization of Peter was so painfully good that I couldn’t help but root for him and wish him the best. My favorite was definitely Hook because he was sort of the trope of the kind of man who is a hardened criminal but still cared a lot about the way he dressed and seemed like a total softie. I think anyone who appreciates a good romance with a lot of banter and the enemies-to-lovers trope will fall in love with this book. There is that beautiful kind of humor that just makes you smile. I found myself giggling more often than not at Peter and Hook’s scenes together. Did I want more by the end of the book? Definitely yes. Did the ending leave me feeling like it could have been better? Not at all. It ended at such a lovely place.

Further note: Despite this being tagged as M/M romance in Goodreads, the rating is PG13 and it’s really not that explicit. I wanted to state that because often than not, the M/M tag on GR is filled with smutty explicit hot mess books written by WOMEN. I think it’s very important we support authors like Chant who is doing his best to give us fluffy fantastical books.

If you want to check more from this author, check COFFEE BOY which is a short story also about a trans boy main character. (I read that one as well but my review is on Goodreads.)

TwitterGoodreads

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Peter Darling by Austin Chant

Leave a Reply

