#HMReadathon wrap-up post!

Hey, everyone!

c_gv7pqwaaaq-l3I hope you are all having a good day, I certainly am!

I am so happy to have started something in the name of supporting a much respected friend and author!

Hannah is hella cute and I wanted this to be a reminder to her that her work can bring joy and entertainment! If you’re reading this, Hannah, thank you for your hard work in creating!

Also: I wanna say thank you to Christine @storysalve, Benni @librarybenni and Ava @bookishwithtea for participating and using the hashtag on twitter! I am so proud of y’all and of myself. It was so much fun to read your tweets and reactions since I believe we read similar books!

Unfortunately, I hit a slump two days ago and I couldn’t finish A History of Glitter and Blood. But, I still have it so I’ll probably pick it up again when I’m in a fantasy mood! I want to do a quick wrap up of the books I did read. My review of Teeth will be up soon, so there’s that to look forward to!

Invincible Summer is a great summer read filled with beautiful imgery of summer and the breathtaking complex relationships within a family. It is a book brimming with Moskowitz charm from confused teenagers such as Chase to even more confused adults such as his parents and older brother Noah. Gone, Gone, Gone is probably my favorite book out of the bundle of three as it dealt with a teenager who was not dealt a good hand by his ex-boyfriend. It gave me so many feelings, both nice and sad and made me smile at very cute instances as Craig and Lio navigated their friendships with very intense romantic feelings going on. Finally, Teeth wins the spot for the most heart-wrenching book. I remember saying that I want something light after GGG but for some reason, my heart led me to Teeth! It’s hefty with metaphors and the entire thing felt like a bittersweet allegory as our favorite Rudy befriends a fishboy who he does quite a bit to save.

Overall, excellent books and I’m so happy to finally have a taste of Hannah’s talented brain! She made me groan with pain so often I was sure she could sense my agony! I definitely loved seeing her writing style develop and yet maintain such a distinctive taste of strong familial relationships as well as alive main characters who made for incredible narrators. I can’t wait to read more of Hannah’s books and you should too!

You can find more posts related to this Readathon in the tag “Hannah Moskowitz Readathon” easily.

If you have read any of the books above, link me to your reviews so we can have  Moskowitz chats!

 

REVIEW: Gone, Gone, Gone by Hannah Moskowitz

8849382Title: Gone, Gone, Gone

Author: Hannah Moskowitz

Publication Date: April 12, 2012

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Rating: ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

Genre: Contemporary, YA, m/m relationship

In the wake of the post-9/11 sniper shootings, fragile love finds a stronghold in this intense, romantic novel from the author of Break and Invincible Summer.

It’s a year after 9/11. Sniper shootings throughout the D.C. area have everyone on edge and trying to make sense of these random acts of violence. Meanwhile, Craig and Lio are just trying to make sense of their lives.

Craig’s crushing on quiet, distant Lio, and preoccupied with what it meant when Lio kissed him… and if he’ll do it again…and if kissing Lio will help him finally get over his ex-boyfriend, Cody.

Lio feels most alive when he’s with Craig. He forgets about his broken family, his dead brother, and the messed up world. But being with Craig means being vulnerable…and Lio will have to decide whether love is worth the risk.

Continue reading

REVIEW: The Paths We Choose by M. Hollis

33299493Title: The Paths We Choose (Lilac Town #2)

Author: M. Hollis

Publication Date: April 6, 2017

Rating: ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

Genre: Contemporary, NA, F/F relationship

Lily Ferrari enjoys having control over every detail of her life. Ever since she left her parents’ house to gain her freedom, she decided to fully own her autonomy. But an unexpected visit from her little brother may change the path she chooses to follow.
Add to that a casual fling with the bright architect Mayte González, and Lily’s summer is turning out more interesting than she expected. It certainly beats the routine of working extra shifts at Johnson’s Bookstore.
A few weeks before her college life begins, Lily needs to figure out if she’s wrong about the past or if she should continue to protect her heart at all costs.

Sometimes moving forward is only possible if you have the right people by your side.

Continue reading

REVIEW: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan Mcguire

25526296Title: Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children #1)

Author: Seanan McGuire

Publication Date: April 5th, 2016

Publisher: Tor.com

Rating: ★★★★/ 4 Stars

Genre: Urban Fantasy, YA, with LGBT+ characters (more in the review)

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.

Continue reading

REVIEW: Invincible Summer by Hannah Moskowitz

8105542Title: Invincible Summer

Author: Hannah Moskowitz

Publication Date: April 19, 2011

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Rating: ★★★★/ 4 Stars

Genre: Contemporary YA

Noah’s happier than I’ve seen him in months. So I’d be an awful brother to get in the way of that. It’s not like I have some relationship with Melinda. It was just a kiss. Am I going to ruin Noah’s happiness because of a kiss?

Across four sun-kissed, drama-drenched summers at his family’s beach house, Chase is falling in love, falling in lust, and trying to keep his life from falling apart. But some girls are addictive….

Not your typical beach read.

Continue reading

REVIEW: Not Your Sidekick by C. B. Lee

  • 31698951

Title: Not Your Sidekick (Sidekick Squad #1)

Author: C. B. Lee

Publication Date: September 8, 2016

Publisher: Duet, an imprint of Interlude Press 

Rating: ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

Genre: Science Fiction, Fantasy, YA, F/F Romance

Welcome to Andover, where superpowers are common, but internships are complicated. Just ask high school nobody, Jessica Tran. Despite her heroic lineage, Jess is resigned to a life without superpowers and is merely looking to beef up her college applications when she stumbles upon the perfect (paid!) internship—only it turns out to be for the town’s most heinous supervillain. On the upside, she gets to work with her longtime secret crush, Abby, whom Jess thinks may have a secret of her own. Then there’s the budding attraction to her fellow intern, the mysterious “M,” who never seems to be in the same place as Abby. But what starts as a fun way to spite her superhero parents takes a sudden and dangerous turn when she uncovers a plot larger than heroes and villains altogether.

Continue reading

REVIEW: Timekeeper by Tara Sim

31082300Title: Timekeepr (Timekeeper #1)

Author: Tara Sim

Publication Date: November 8, 2016

Publisher: Sky Pony Press

Rating: ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

Genre: Fantasy, Steampunk, YA, M/M Romance

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

Continue reading

LIST: May Wrap Up

IMG_0932.PNGMay was a very great month for reading but personally… not so great. I’m still recovering from the troubles that I had in the last week but I had a lot of great reads. I also feel like I did my best to fulfill the e-arc requests that I kind of went over with in Netgalley. I got rejected for a lot of books but oh well. I am excited to read more in June. Also, I’ve got a readathon that I’ll reveal information about in a week’s time. I’m afraid that this post will be my only one this week since I’m dealing with finals and I won’t be back until the 13th. I have some planned and scheduled, but otherwise, I won’t be available. Continue reading

eARC REVIEW: Aftercare Instructions by Bonnie Pipkin

33797108

Title: Aftercare Instructions

Author: Bonnie Pipkin

Expected Publication Date: June 27, 2017

Publisher: Flatiron Books

Rating: ★★★★★/ 5 Stars

Genre: Contemporary YA

In the tradition of Rainbow Rowell and Jandy Nelson, a powerful, big-hearted journey of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope

“Troubled.” That’s seventeen-year-old Genesis according to her small New Jersey town. She finds refuge and stability in her relationship with her boyfriend, Peter—until he abandons her at a Planned Parenthood clinic during their appointment to terminate an unwanted pregnancy. The betrayal causes Gen to question everything.

As Gen pushes herself forward to find her new identity without Peter, she must also confront her most painful memories. Through the lens of an ongoing four act play within the novel, the fantasy of their undying love unravels line by line, scene by scene. Digging deeper into her past while exploring the underground theater world of New York City, she rediscovers a long forgotten dream. But it’s when Gen lets go of her history, the one she thinks she knows, that she’s finally able to embrace the complicated, chaotic true story of her life, and take center stage.

Aftercare Instructions, an electric, format-crushing debut, full of heart and hope, follows Gen on a big-hearted journey from dorm rooms to diners to underground theaters—and ultimately, right into readers’ hearts.

Continue reading